About Management and Business Review

Editorial Policies

Photo by Helloquence on Unsplash

The value of Management and Business Review lies in the quality of its content.

Download a PDF version of the MBR Plan here. 

Our Team

The editorial team is organized in a multi-level structure. Each of the following bold headers distinguishes each level.


Wallace J. Hopp, Distinguished University Professor and Associate Dean, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan (former Editor-in-Chief, Management Science)
Christopher Ittner, EY Professor of Accounting, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania (former Editor, The Accounting Review)
Kalyan Singhal, McCurdy Professor of Innovation and Supply-Chain Management, Merrick School of Business, University of Baltimore (Editor-in-Chief, Production and Operations Management)

Executive Editor:

Subodha Kumar, Paul R. Anderson Distinguished Chair Professor and Founding Director of Center for Business Analytics and Disruptive Technologies, Fox School of Business, Temple University (Deputy Editor, Production and Operations Management)

Deputy Editor-in-Chief:

Anup Srivastava, Canada Research Chair, Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary


MBR has 222 advisers, including editors of prominent research journals. Advisors will guide the editors on the strategic direction of MBR. Here are only a few of the academic institutions that are involved.

Wharton Business School

14 Professors

Harvard Business School

13 Professors

Carnegie Mellon University

8 Professors


7 Professors


7 Professors

Stanford University

7 Professors


6 Professors

Michigan State University

5 Professors


5 Professors

Columbia University

4 Professors

Northwest University

4 Professors


4 Professors

As well as 2 or more professors from:

  • Case Western Reserve
  • Chicago
  • Cornell
  • Duke
  • George Mason
  • Georgia State
  • Illinois
  • Imperial College
  • London Business School
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • National University of Singapore
  • Ohio State
  • Pittsburgh
  • Rochester
  • Singapore Management University
  • Temple
  • Thunderbird
  • Tufts
  • University of California at Berkeley
  • University of Southern California
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • Virginia
  • Yale

Corporate Advisors

These executives have published best-selling books for executives and articles in journals like the Harvard Business Review. Their names are listed at the end of this plan. Twenty-nine of the advisers also serve as autonomous departmental editors.

MBR corporate sector advisors include 11 executives from

  • Accenture
  • act2
  • Alidade
  • Ashridge Strategic Management Centre
  • Bain & Company
  • Deloitte
  • General Electric
  • Good Growth Capital
  • Mercer
  • Monitor Deloitte

Autonomous Departmental Editors

Papers will be submitted to the Autonomous Departmental Editors. The editors will have full authority to accept papers that may later go through extensive copy editing.

Associate editors will assist department editors in getting papers reviewed.

Members of the editorial review board will review papers.

Authors will submit their papers to the department editors who will have full authority to accept papers that may later go through extensive copy editing.

  1. Bhaskar Chakravorty, Tufts University (Digital Innovation and Emerging Markets)
  2. Charles Corbett, UCLA (Sustainability)
  3. Andreas Eisingerich, Imperial College (Marketing)
  4. Arnd Huchzermeier, WHU: Otto Beisheim School of Management (Global Supply Chains and Risk Management)
  5. Chris Ittner, Wharton School (Accounting)
  6. Kevin Keller, Dartmouth College (Marketing and Brand Management)
  7. Nirmalya Kumar, Singapore Management University (Marketing)
  8. Eva Labro, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Accounting)
  9. Sunil Mithas, University of Maryland (Digital Transformations)
  10. Satish Nambisan, Case Western Reserve University (Technology and Innovation)
  11. Geoff Parker, Dartmouth College (Digital Transformations)
  1. Ananth Raman, Harvard Business School (Retail Operations)
  2. Stefan Reichelstein, Stanford Business School (Energy and Sustainability)
  3. Sergei Savin, Wharton School (Healthcare Management)
  4. Anil Shivdasani, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Finance)
  5. David Simchi-Levi, MIT (Operations Management and Big Data Analytics)
  6. Kalyan Singhal, University of Baltimore (Areas not listed here)
  7. Jan-Benedict Steenkamp, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Marketing)
  8. Jayashankar M. Swaminathan, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Operations Management)
  9. Asoo Vakharia, University of Florida (Waste Management)
  10. Richard Watson, University of Georgia (Information Systems)
  11. Jeffrey R Williams, Carnegie-Mellon University (Strategic Management)


MBR Journal is cosponsored by eleven prominent business schools

Cosponsor names will be listed on the front of all issue covers

  1. Anderson School of Management at UCLA
  2. China Europe International Business School
  3. City University of Hong Kong
  4. Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia
  5. Indian School of Business
  1. Johnson College of Business at Cornell University 4 
  2. Merrick School of Business, University of Baltimore
  3. Owen Graduate School of Business at Vanderbilt University
  4. Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan 
  5. Tepper School of Business at Carnegie Mellon